Hartwig Piepenbrock-DZNE Preis

Every two years the Hartwig Piepenbrock-DZNE Prize honors outstanding contributions to the study of neurodegenerative diseases. These diseases, which include Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s, are characterized by neuronal dysfunctions and the death of nerve cells. This may cause dementia, movement disorders or other health problems.

The Prize is endowed by the Piepenbrock Group and awarded in remembrance of its former Chief Executive Officer and Chairman. Hartwig Piepenbrock himself passed away after suffering from dementia. He had been committed to art, science and society for many years.

The winner is chosen by an international committee, coordinated by the DZNE. 

The awardees so far:

2011 Prof. Konrad Beyreuther, University Heidelberg, Germany
2013 Prof. Charles Weissmann, Scripps Research Institute Florida, USA
          Prof. Adriano Aguzzi, University Zürich, Swiss
2015 Prof. John Hardy, University College London (UCL), England
2017 Prof. Heiko Braak, University Ulm, Germany
2019 Prof. Christian Haass, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München / DZNE München, Germany


Thursdays 1:30-4:30 pm

Patients +49 800-7799001

(free of charge)

Professionals +49 180-779900

(9 Cent/Min. German landline, mobile and out of Germany possibly more expensive)

Welcome to our website, here you can inform yourself basically cookie-free.

We would be pleased if you would allow a cookie to be set for analysis purposes in order to optimise our provided information. All data are pseudonymous and are only used by the DZNE. We deliberately avoid third-party cookies. You can deselect this setting at any time here.

Your browser allows the setting of cookies: