Livestream tonight: Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne dedicates their concert to the Deutsche Demenzhilfe


On the occasion of this annual day of action, the Gürzenich Orchestra is dedicating its concert today, September 21, 2021, starting at 8 p.m., to the Deutsche Demenzhilfe.
The "Janus" concert will take place at the Kölner Philharmonie. It can also be seen live in the stream on the orchestra's website or/and via YouTube. (Be there live here!)

To be heard are:

  • Johannes Brahms: Double Concerto in A minor for violin, violoncello and orchestra op. 102 (1887)
  • Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major, WAB 104 "The Romantic" (1874)

Torsten Janicke (Violin)
Bonian Tian (Violoncello)
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
François-Xavier Roth (Conductor)

The organizer writes:

"It’s a reminiscence of the Gürzenich Orchestra’s great tradition of embracing novelty: The Double Concerto by Johannes Brahms, a monumental late work, was premiered in Cologne in 1887. The soloists at the time were the cellist Robert Hausmann and the famous violinist Joseph Joachim. The latter had great appreciation for the piece, however Theodor Billroth, a music enthusiast and one of the most renowned surgeons of the 19th century, judged it with bitter cynicism, calling it a »grim old man's work«. In placing two soloists in front of the orchestra, Brahms quotes baroque and early classical traditions. Though it remains at that, for Brahms develops the Double Concerto in a grandiose, closed symphonic form.

Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4 marks the continuation of François-Xavier Roth’s Bruckner Cycle, the »Romantic« quite possibly being Bruckner’s most popular symphony."


Welcome to our website, here you can inform yourself basically cookie-free.

We would be pleased if you would allow a cookie to be set for analysis purposes in order to optimise our provided information. All data are pseudonymous and are only used by the DZNE. We deliberately avoid third-party cookies. You can deselect this setting at any time here.

Your browser allows the setting of cookies: